Asterisk-1.8 No such command 'console'

Get help with installing, upgrading and running Asterisk.

Moderators: muppetmaster, Support, Moderator

Asterisk-1.8 No such command 'console'

Postby Blaise.M » Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:10 am

Hi,

I installed Asterisk 1.8 following "Asterisk: the definitive guide" on oreilly. I know it is not yet a complete guide.

I tried to use console dial <extension> and I got the no such command error. How can I solve this? Or what is the root error?

In make menuselect: <chan_console> and <chan_alsa> indicate XXX which means some dependent packages were missing at config time. Is that the point where I should start to solve the problem? If yes please tell me how.

Asterisk 1.8.2.2
CentOS 5.5
kernel: 2.6.18-194.32.1.el5

Thanks
Blaise.M
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:11 pm

Re: Asterisk-1.8 No such command 'console'

Postby david55 » Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:14 am

Yes. If a build dependency fails, the module won't be built and if the module isn't built, the commands it defines will not be installed.

If you look carefully at menuconfig's display, you will see it telling you which dendencies failed. I can't remember exactly where you have to put the cursor, etc., for this.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 9735
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: Asterisk-1.8 No such command 'console'

Postby Blaise.M » Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:48 am

menuselect says that chan_console depends on portaudio. I installed portaudio from source and re-configured menuselect, but the problem persisted: still I see XXX for chan_console.

Any exact solution?
Blaise.M
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:11 pm

Re: Asterisk-1.8 No such command 'console'

Postby david55 » Tue Mar 01, 2011 6:53 am

Did you re-run ./configure?

If not, do so, before running menuselect. If you did, look for other missing dependencies in menuselect, or for installation of portaudio in a place where configure can't find it without help.

It is very unlikely you will get an explicit fix, because we don't know what is wrong with your configuration.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 9735
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: Asterisk-1.8 No such command 'console'

Postby Blaise.M » Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:44 am

I did re-run ./configure in menuselect's folder

As for portaudio I executed ./configure without specifying any explicit options.

I will try ./configure --help to find options for configuring menuselect with portaudio. Any other pointers?

Thanks so far for the help
Blaise.M
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:11 pm

Re: Asterisk-1.8 No such command 'console'

Postby david55 » Tue Mar 01, 2011 7:51 am

./configure must be run in the top level asterisk source code directory. There is no need to explicitly run it in the menuselect directory.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 9735
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: Asterisk-1.8 No such command 'console'

Postby cuban_cigar » Thu Mar 03, 2011 5:05 pm

ok, yum is the installer for centos

google string "yum portaudio"

This is what showed up:

Code: Select all
yum -y install portaudio portaudio-devel


maybe a faster alternative for installing dependencies
cuban_cigar
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 12:28 am

Re: Asterisk-1.8 No such command 'console'

Postby Blaise.M » Sat Mar 05, 2011 6:38 am

I fixed the portaudio dependency thing by doing:
Code: Select all
rpm -Uvh ftp://ftp.pbone.net/mirror/atrpms.net/el5-i386/atrpms/stable/portaudio-19-6_4_20071207.el5.i386.rpm

because yum wasn't able to find the packages

and

Code: Select all
./configure --with-portaudio=/usr/local/lib  //where libportaudio.so is located

So now there is no XXX for chan_console in menuselect
chan_alsa and chan_oss are fine.

However, when I start asterisk: asterisk -c
I get the following list of errors:
Code: Select all
CDR simple logging enabled.
197 modules will be loaded.
res_odbc loaded.
No directory user found, anonymous binding as default.
No directory URL or host found.
Cannot load LDAP RealTime driver.
No music on hold classes configured, disabling music on hold.
Cannot find variable 'SIPPEER' in tree 'description'
Cannot find variable 'SIPCHANINFO' in tree 'description'
Cannot find variable 'AGENT' in tree 'description'
set_channels failed: Invalid argument
Rate not correct, requested 8000, got 48000
[color=#BF0000]snd_pcm_open failed: No such file or directory[/color]
[color=#BF0000]Problem opening ALSA playback device[/color]
[color=#4000BF]Ignoring any changes to 'userbase' (on reload) at line 23.
Ignoring any changes to 'vmsecret' (on reload) at line 31.
Ignoring any changes to 'hassip' (on reload) at line 35.
Ignoring any changes to 'hasiax' (on reload) at line 39.
Ignoring any changes to 'hasmanager' (on reload) at line 47.[/color]
No Bluetooth devices found. Not loading module.
[color=#FF8000]Cannot find variable 'IAXPEER' in tree 'description'
Cannot find variable 'IAXVAR' in tree 'description'
No IAX provisioning configuration found, IAX provisioning disabled.[/color]
Cannot find variable 'MEETME_INFO' in tree 'description'
Failed to load configuration file. Module not activated.
Unable to load cdr_custom.conf. Not logging custom CSV CDRs.
Failed to load configuration file. Module not activated.
Failed to load configuration file. Module not activated.
Could not initialize cluster membership service: Try Again
Failed to load configuration file. Module activated with default settings.

first it was complaining about "permission denied" for snd_pcm_open. I did chmod -R a+rwX /dev/snd
and now it is complaining that it is not found.

/et/asound.conf looks like this:
Code: Select all
pcm.!default {
        type hw
        card 0
        device 1
}

If I remove asound.conf, asterisk doesn't start with alsa loaded.

lspci -v | grep -i audio gives:
Code: Select all
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)


lsmod | grep -i snd gives:
Code: Select all
snd_intel8x0           35421  1
snd_ac97_codec         93025  1 snd_intel8x0
ac97_bus                6337  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_seq_dummy           7877  0
snd_seq_oss            32576  0
snd_seq_midi_event     11073  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                49585  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device         11725  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            42817  0
snd_mixer_oss          19009  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm                72133  4 snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_timer              24517  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    55749  10 snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore              11553  1 snd
snd_page_alloc         14281  2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm


console dial 1001:
Code: Select all
Failed to open stream - (-9985) Device unavailable


SIP registration is not working for something as simple as this:
Code: Select all
[general]
port=5060
udpbindaddr=0.0.0.0

[2000]
type=friend
secret=<some pass>
host=dynamic


sip set debug on doesn't show anything while Ekiga is trying to register

Sorry if this has been too long. If you think I should post some sections in different threads pls let me know.

P.S. this forum keeps looping to the index page whenever I try to post or review. Deleting cookies doesn't help. It works after few trial .... it is so annoying
Blaise.M
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:11 pm


Return to Asterisk Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests