SIP TCP Support in Asterisk 1.6.2.11

Get help with installing, upgrading and running Asterisk.

Moderators: muppetmaster, Moderator, Support

SIP TCP Support in Asterisk 1.6.2.11

Postby cra026 » Tue Apr 05, 2011 2:42 pm

I'm using Asterisk 1.6.2.11 as a call manager for CISCO IP Phones, and trying to configure SIP protocol to use TCP.

I've modified the sip.conf file to specify:

[dump2040-1040]
type=peer
host=192.168.10.40
tcpenable=yes
tcpbindaddr=0.0.0.0
callcounter=yes
transport=tcp
tlsbindaddr=0.0.0.0
port=5060

I've restarted the Asterisk all manager after modifying sip.conf, but SIP is still using UDP. Any ideas on why it is still using UDP?
cra026
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 2:35 pm

Re: SIP TCP Support in Asterisk 1.6.2.11

Postby malcolmd » Tue Apr 05, 2011 4:02 pm

Howdy,

These:

Code: Select all
tcpenable=yes
tcpbindaddr=0.0.0.0


parameters need to appear in the [general] section, not in the peer definition section(s).
Malcolm Davenport
Digium, Inc. | Senior Product Manager
malcolmd
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 2697
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL, US

Re: SIP TCP Support in Asterisk 1.6.2.11

Postby cra026 » Wed Apr 06, 2011 8:00 am

Thanks.

I made the suggested changes, but still have issues. I thought specifying "transport=tcp" in the peer definition section would make Asterisk use TCP. Despite the changes specified, SIP still uses UDP (verified with the Wireshark pcap tool). I have noticed, however that Asterisk is in fact listening for tcp traffic on port 5060.

I have two Asterisk instances running on two separate servers on a local network. One Cisco IP phone is connected to each Asterisk instance. The two Cisco IP Phones are using Skinny. The Asterisk instances talk to each other using SIP, instead of IAX. I need this particular setup as I am running a software that analyzes the TCP packets.
cra026
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 2:35 pm

Re: SIP TCP Support in Asterisk 1.6.2.11

Postby malcolmd » Wed Apr 06, 2011 11:21 am

Perhaps your client then is not attempting TCP, but instead only UDP?
Malcolm Davenport
Digium, Inc. | Senior Product Manager
malcolmd
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 2697
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL, US

Re: SIP TCP Support in Asterisk 1.6.2.11

Postby cra026 » Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:53 pm

We have a network in which there are two Call Managers (CMs), and the communication between them is by SIP. Two Cisco VoIP phones (each serviced by a CM) are to make calls between them, and they transmit UDP packets. We want the SIP to be over TCP.

Below's the gist of our sip.conf file:

[general]
context=default
;udpbindaddr=0.0.0.0
tcpenable=yes
tcpbindaddr=0.0.0.0

[%identifier%]
type=peer
host=%host-ip%
transport=tcp
port=5060
context=%context-name-on-peer%
disallow=all

allow=ulaw
;allow=gsm
;allow=g726
;allow=ilbc
;allow=lpc10

Appreciate your continuing help on this.
cra026
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 2:35 pm

Re: SIP TCP Support in Asterisk 1.6.2.11

Postby malcolmd » Wed Apr 06, 2011 3:47 pm

So it's Cisco Phone SIP UDP > CCM > SIP via UDP > CCM > Cisco Phone SIP UDP ?

Where's Asterisk supposed to be in this picture?
Malcolm Davenport
Digium, Inc. | Senior Product Manager
malcolmd
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 2697
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL, US

Re: SIP TCP Support in Asterisk 1.6.2.11

Postby cra026 » Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:11 am

Asterisk's are used as the Call Managers in our set-up (we don't use
Cisco CMs). They use Skinny to talk to the phones and SIP to communicate
between the themselves. So:

Cisco Phone Skinny (UDP?/TCP?) > Asterisk > SIP via UDP > Asterisk >
Cisco Phone Skinny (UDP?/TCP?)

We want to use SIP via TCP between the two Asterisks. The phones have
the SCCP firmware. We are trying to avoid replacing the firmware to SIP.
I do not know if the phones use UDP or TCP to communicate with Asterisk.


Thanks.
cra026
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 2:35 pm

Re: SIP TCP Support in Asterisk 1.6.2.11

Postby mageshwaran » Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:02 am

Hi,

If you are using Asterisk 1.6 .You can try out Chan_SCCP to connect cisco phones with out changing to SIP.
Below given are the links you can look into it

http://bughira.wordpress.com/2008/06/20 ... sk-part-i/
http://chan-sccp-b.sourceforge.net
http://chan-sccp.org/

Please do update the result :)

Cheers,
Magesh
mageshwaran
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 6:51 am

Re: SIP TCP Support in Asterisk 1.6.2.11

Postby david55 » Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:52 am

mageshwaran:

The Skinny aspect of this seems to be a red herring. He is only interested in an Asterisk to Asterisk SIP connection.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 10558
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: SIP TCP Support in Asterisk 1.6.2.11

Postby cra026 » Mon Apr 11, 2011 1:27 pm

Yes, as david55 pointed out, in our set-up connection of Phone1--CM1--CM2--Phone2, we're interested in making the SIP signaling between CM1--CM2 run over TCP (currently, it runs over UDP). Thanks.
cra026
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 2:35 pm


Return to Asterisk Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 34 guests