"Unable to connect to remote asterisk"

Get help with installing, upgrading and running Asterisk.

Moderators: muppetmaster, Moderator, Support

"Unable to connect to remote asterisk"

Postby gatorback » Mon Sep 26, 2011 6:43 pm

I can no longer connect to my Asterisk:

root@athomehost:~# asterisk -r
Asterisk 1.8.4, Copyright (C) 1999 - 2010 Digium, Inc. and others.
Created by Mark Spencer <markster@digium.com>
Asterisk comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY; type 'core show warranty' for details.
This is free software, with components licensed under the GNU General Public
License version 2 and other licenses; you are welcome to redistribute it under
certain conditions. Type 'core show license' for details.
=========================================================================
Unable to connect to remote asterisk (does /opt/var/run/asterisk/asterisk.ctl exist?)
root@athomehost:~# ls -l /opt/var/run/asterisk/asterisk.ctl
srwxr-xr-x 1 root root 0 Sep 22 14:03 /opt/var/run/asterisk/asterisk.ctl


asterisk.ctl doe s exist, however the file is of size 0. I think that I received a call at 14:03 (time shown by the file). What needs to be done to correct this problem? How did it get in to such a sad state?
Free Asterisk Book| Asterisk 1.8.18 on Optware ASUS RT-N16 | Linksys SPA2102 | G729a codec bandwidth
gatorback
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 1:48 pm

Re: "Unable to connect to remote asterisk"

Postby SGM » Mon Sep 26, 2011 7:07 pm

Try restarting Asterisk
SGM
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

Re: "Unable to connect to remote asterisk"

Postby gatorback » Mon Sep 26, 2011 7:27 pm

I have tried to restart asterisk several times and rebooted the platform. No joy.

Are there any diagnostics that can be performed to determine the problem?

Update: Power ON Reset seemed to remove this problem. I am concerned that I do not understand what happened or why it happened. The only change made was to sip.conf and restrict the codec:

[callcentric]
; 9/9/11: attempt to restrict codec
;disallow=all
;disallow=ulaw
;disallow=alaw
;allow=g729

It's hard to believe that this would cause this error.
Free Asterisk Book| Asterisk 1.8.18 on Optware ASUS RT-N16 | Linksys SPA2102 | G729a codec bandwidth
gatorback
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 1:48 pm

Re: "Unable to connect to remote asterisk"

Postby david55 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 3:07 am

This error generally means that the Asterisk daemon has not started. You need to look at the logs to see what prevented its starting.

It could also indicate a crash in the absence of something like safe_asterisk to automatically restart it, in which case you need to make sure that crash dumps are enabled and debug it as a crash.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 10591
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: "Unable to connect to remote asterisk"

Postby rfine » Wed Sep 28, 2011 11:20 am

Please open a command prompt and type without quotations:
"cp /dev/null /var/log/asterisk/full"
"asterisk"

if it fails to load the pbx then run this:
"tail -n 20000 /var/log/asterisk/full > last20k"

then open the last20k file with vi or some other editor and locate any ERRORS and paste into the question.
rfine
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:51 am


Return to Asterisk Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 28 guests