"No path to translate from Gtalk"

Get help with installing, upgrading and running Asterisk.

Moderators: muppetmaster, Moderator, Support

"No path to translate from Gtalk"

Postby gatorback » Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:16 pm

UPDATE:This problem seems to affect OUTBOUND calls only. Inbound Gtalk Calls Are received.

I have had Gtalk working nicely for some time and now when I dial I get a busy signal. CLI error messages:

[Sep 27 21:48:39] WARNING[1093]: channel.c:5635 ast_channel_make_compatible_helper: No path to translate from Gtalk/18005551212@voice.google.com-03d7 to SIP/101-00000015
[Sep 27 21:48:39] NOTICE[19563]: chan_gtalk.c:1977 gtalk_parser: Remote peer reported an error, trying to establish the call anyway


Is this a problem on my end or Google's? If you have a Gtalk channel please test and post your results (working \ not working). It's not clear to me what this error message means.

I ran a couple of quick jabber diagnostics:

Code: Select all
root@athomehost:~# asterisk -rx "jabber show connections"
Jabber Users and their status:
       [myAccount1] myAccount1@gmail.com/Talk     - Connected
       [myAccount2] myAccount2@gmail.com/Talk     - Connected


I checked the gmail UI and it shows the message I configured in jabber.conf.

My ATA's code is also setup to use multiple codecs. Here is my sip.conf:

[101]
type=friend
host=dynamic
nat=yes
qualify=yes
context=mario-default
defaultuser=101
secret=myPassword
callerid="SPA2102 L2" <101>
mailbox=101
Last edited by gatorback on Wed Sep 28, 2011 3:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Free Asterisk Book| Asterisk 1.8.18 on Optware ASUS RT-N16 | Linksys SPA2102 | G729a codec bandwidth
gatorback
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 1:48 pm

Re: "No path to translate from Gtalk"

Postby david55 » Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:50 am

It's a codec incompatibility, but detected after the negotiation.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 12570
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: "No path to translate from Gtalk"

Postby gatorback » Wed Sep 28, 2011 5:08 am

@david55: Please elaborate on how you arrived at this conclusion.
Free Asterisk Book| Asterisk 1.8.18 on Optware ASUS RT-N16 | Linksys SPA2102 | G729a codec bandwidth
gatorback
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 1:48 pm

Re: "No path to translate from Gtalk"

Postby david55 » Wed Sep 28, 2011 5:35 am

The message says it can't convert between the codecs. It can only happen if both sides are up, which means the codec negotiation is complete.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 12570
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: "No path to translate from Gtalk"

Postby gatorback » Wed Sep 28, 2011 6:39 am

@david55: do you have a suggestion action I can take to verify and correct the issue?

No path to translate from Gtalk


As I re-read the error message (above), this seems like a routing issue (no path). Gtalk was working nicely (except when Google boogered up there side) for several months and now I am seeing a problem. I have been attempting to optimize sip traffic so that it uses G729 instead of ulaw lately, however, I don't think this is a problem because I do not force G729: I make it optional along with ulaw. The other SIP endpoint (callcentric.com) supports G729 and the ATA is setup so that if given the choice, it will use G729, otherwise it will use ulaw.
Free Asterisk Book| Asterisk 1.8.18 on Optware ASUS RT-N16 | Linksys SPA2102 | G729a codec bandwidth
gatorback
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 1:48 pm

Re: "No path to translate from Gtalk"

Postby david55 » Wed Sep 28, 2011 7:03 am

It's a route through the codec translations, not through the network.

Code: Select all
        /* Set up translation from the 'from' channel to the 'to' channel */
        src = from->nativeformats;
        dst = to->nativeformats;

        /* If there's no audio in this call, don't bother with trying to find a translation path */
        if ((src & AST_FORMAT_AUDIO_MASK) == 0 || (dst & AST_FORMAT_AUDIO_MASK) == 0)
                return 0;

        if (ast_translator_best_choice(&dst, &src) < 0) {
                ast_log(LOG_WARNING, "No path to translate from %s(%d) to %s(%d)\n", from->name, src, to->name, dst);
                return -1;
        }



Code: Select all
/*!
* \brief Chooses the best translation path
*
* Given a list of sources, and a designed destination format, which should
* I choose?
* \return Returns 0 on success, -1 if no path could be found. 
* \note Modifies dests and srcs in place
*/
int ast_translator_best_choice(int *dsts, int *srcs);

david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 12570
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: "No path to translate from Gtalk"

Postby gatorback » Wed Sep 28, 2011 2:36 pm

UPDATE: Inbound GV through the Gtalk channel seems to work. Only outbound has problems.

@david55: excellent detective work. Thanks for making it explicit \ clarifying. Is there anything that can be done to remedy this problem? Thank you.

I am providing additional information below in the hope that it will be enough to provide a diagnosis that results in a remedy or a determination that the problem is on Google's side. I tried rebooting (hard \ soft) and had temporary success.

These are the Gtalk codecs:

Today, Google Talk supports the following standard voice codecs:
•PCMA
•PCMU
•G.722
•GSM
•iLBC
•Speex
We also support the following codecs from Global IP Sound: ISAC, IPCMWB, EG711U, EG711A.


Based on past traffic from successful calls, I believe that the EG711u codec was used.I don't think that my codecs have changed: I have posted an image of my ATA's configuration below. It is setup to use negotiate from multiple codecs.


Traffic Snapshot to ID Codec (from successful Gtalk call setup)
=====================================================
athomehost*CLI> jabber set debug on
Jabber Debugging Enabled.

JABBER: myEmailAddr OUTGOING: <iq type='set' to='15555551212@voice.google.com' from='myEmailAddr@gmail.com/Talk1ED71C4C' id='aaabu'><session xmlns='http://www.google.com/session' type='initiate' initiator='myEmailAddr@gmail.com/Talk1ED71C4C' id='2337b31a1713b921'><description xmlns='http://www.google.com/session/phone' xml:lang='en'><payload-type id='0' name='PCMU' clockrate='8000' bitrate='64000'/><payload-type id='100' name='EG711U' clockrate='8000' bitrate='64000'/><payload-type id='101' name='telephone-event' clockrate='8000'/></description></session></iq>

JABBER: myEmailAddr INCOMING: <iq type="error" to="myEmailAddr@gmail.com/Talk1ED71C4C" from="15555551212@voice.google.com" id="aaabu"><session type="initiate" initiator="myEmailAddr@gmail.com/Talk1ED71C4C" id="2337b31a1713b921" xmlns="http://www.google.com/session"><description xml:lang="en" xmlns="http://www.google.com/session/phone"><payload-type id="0" name="PCMU" clockrate="8000" bitrate="64000"/><payload-type id="100" name="EG711U" clockrate="8000" bitrate="64000"/><payload-type id="101" name="telephone-event" clockrate="8000"/></description></session><error code="302" type="modify"><redirect xmlns="urn:ietf:params:xml:ns:xmpp-stanzas">xmpp:15555551212@voice.google.com/srvres-MTAuMTMuMTcyLjU6OTg4Nw==</redirect><ses:redirect xmlns:ses="http://www.google.com/session">




ATA Codec Setup
===============
Image
Free Asterisk Book| Asterisk 1.8.18 on Optware ASUS RT-N16 | Linksys SPA2102 | G729a codec bandwidth
gatorback
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 1:48 pm


Return to Asterisk Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest