Unable to get outbound calls to work through RingCentral

Get help with installing, upgrading and running Asterisk.

Moderators: muppetmaster, Moderator, Support

Unable to get outbound calls to work through RingCentral

Postby domiller » Tue Apr 07, 2015 5:40 pm

I am pulling my hair out over this one. I am trying to connect my Asterisk server to RingCentral.com I can register and accept inbound calls, but outbound fail.

The information provided by Ringcentral (numbers and password changed) is:

SIP Domain sip.ringcentral.com:5060
Outbound Proxy sip20.ringcentral.com:5090
User Name 15015551212 -- This is my DID number
Password Xyzzy
Authorization ID 123456789012 -- This is some arbitrary string

For testing purposes I plugged all that into a Yealink SIPT22 and it works beautifully. I *know* Asterisk can talk to RingCentral, if only I can find the right combination of parameters.

For a register string I am using:
15015551212:Xyzzy:123456789012@sip20.ringcentral.com:5090/15015551212

My trunk configuration is: (and I have tried *lots* of other things, but with no improvement)
type=friend
secret=Xyzzy
port=5060
outboundproxy=sip20.ringcentral.com:5090
insecure=port,invite
host=sip.ringcentral.com
fromuser=15015551212
fromdomain=sip20.ringcentral.com
defaultuser=15015551212
authuser=123456789012
srvlookup=no
context=from-trunk
canreinvite=no

I show ringcentral as registered, but outbound calls result in the following:

[2015-04-07 17:45:28] VERBOSE[19433][C-0000005b] pbx.c: -- Executing [s@macro-dialout-trunk:20] Dial("SIP/102-000000ba", "SIP/RingCentral/15013768111,300,Tt") in new stack
[2015-04-07 17:45:28] VERBOSE[19433][C-0000005b] netsock2.c: == Using SIP RTP TOS bits 184
[2015-04-07 17:45:28] VERBOSE[19433][C-0000005b] netsock2.c: == Using SIP RTP CoS mark 5
[2015-04-07 17:45:28] VERBOSE[19433][C-0000005b] app_dial.c: -- Called SIP/RingCentral/15013302830
[2015-04-07 17:45:28] NOTICE[1623][C-0000005b] chan_sip.c: Failed to authenticate on INVITE to '<sip:15015551212@sip20.ringcentral.com>;tag=as21c9e4e7'
[2015-04-07 17:45:28] VERBOSE[19433][C-0000005b] app_dial.c: -- SIP/RingCentral-000000bb is circuit-busy

Interestingly, if I change the fromuser parameter to something *other* than my DID, the error changes to:

[2015-04-07 17:49:05] VERBOSE[19526][C-0000005e] pbx.c: -- Executing [s@macro-dialout-trunk:20] Dial("SIP/102-000000c0", "SIP/RingCentral/15013302830,300,Tt") in new stack
[2015-04-07 17:49:05] VERBOSE[19526][C-0000005e] netsock2.c: == Using SIP RTP TOS bits 184
[2015-04-07 17:49:05] VERBOSE[19526][C-0000005e] netsock2.c: == Using SIP RTP CoS mark 5
[2015-04-07 17:49:05] VERBOSE[19526][C-0000005e] app_dial.c: -- Called SIP/RingCentral/15013302830
[2015-04-07 17:49:05] VERBOSE[1623][C-0000005e] chan_sip.c: -- Got SIP response 486 "Busy Here" back from 199.255.120.177:5090
[2015-04-07 17:49:05] VERBOSE[19526][C-0000005e] app_dial.c: -- SIP/RingCentral-000000c1 is busy

I have read everything I can find but there don't seem to be many people discussing hooking Asterisk to RingCentral. I wouldn't be either if it wasn't the provider that my office has chosen to use.

Thanks in advance for any help.
domiller
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 5:18 pm

Re: Unable to get outbound calls to work through RingCentral

Postby ambiorixg12 » Tue Apr 07, 2015 11:53 pm

This is the reply you are getting from your outbound proxy
domiller wrote:[2015-04-07 17:49:05] VERBOSE[1623][C-0000005e] chan_sip.c: -- Got SIP response 486 "Busy Here" back from 199.255.120.177:5090



486 Busy Here

The callee's end system was contacted successfully, but the callee is
currently not willing or able to take additional calls at this end
system. The response MAY indicate a better time to call in the
Retry-After header field. The user could also be available.

I think you might need some collaboration from your carrier.
ambiorixg12
Astmaster
 
Posts: 967
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 9:32 pm
Location: Dominican Republic

Re: Unable to get outbound calls to work through RingCentral

Postby david55 » Wed Apr 08, 2015 1:11 am

Your fromdomain doesn't agree with the instructions given, but if that was the problem, I don't think your wrong fromuser test would have failed in the way it did.

canreinvite is probably no longer recognized, but no is the default for directmedia.

type=peer is better than type=friend, but that only affects incoming calls.

There is a good chance that you will have problems with the source address of incoming calls; you need to find out what that is.

Using remotesecret instead of secret is generally better than using insecure=invite, and for most people, using insecure=port is simply insecure.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 12570
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: Unable to get outbound calls to work through RingCentral

Postby domiller » Wed Apr 08, 2015 9:28 pm

Okay, after beating on it for a couple more hours and resorting to sip trace and wireshark, I finally found the *simple* problem. It's all because of that Authorization ID that almost no one else seems to use. That has to be configured in the username parameter. Sometimes the obvious eludes me. Hopefully this will help the next person who tries to use RingCentral.

My WORKING definition is now:
type=peer
secret=xyzzy
port=5060
host=sip.ringcentral.com
outboundproxy=sip20.ringcentral.com:5090
fromuser=15015551212
defaultuser=15015551212
username=123456789012
context=from-trunk
domiller
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 5:18 pm

Re: Unable to get outbound calls to work through RingCentral

Postby surp » Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:31 am

Try change the register string to use the trunk name not the DNS host. This is necessary to get the outboundproxy setting to work inside a trunk configuration. That doesn't seem to be documented anywhere.

Code: Select all
For a register string I am using:
15015551212:Xyzzy:123456789012@sometrunkname/15015551212

My trunk configuration is: (and I have tried *lots* of other things, but with no improvement)
Trunk name : sometrunkname

type=friend
secret=Xyzzy
port=5060
outboundproxy=sip20.ringcentral.com:5090
insecure=port,invite
host=sip.ringcentral.com
fromuser=15015551212
fromdomain=sip20.ringcentral.com
defaultuser=15015551212
authuser=123456789012
srvlookup=no
context=from-trunk
canreinvite=no
surp
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 9:52 am

Re: Unable to get outbound calls to work through RingCentral

Postby jefrhi » Wed Dec 16, 2015 5:51 am

I'm having the same trouble but using domiller's settings doesn't change my result for outbound...inbound works fine.

Surp, can you elaborate on what you mean by "sometrunkname" and how it affects the outboundproxy setting?

Domiller, are your Ring Central trunks still working?

Thanks!
jefrhi
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 8:30 pm


Return to Asterisk Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest