Bug: SayPhonetic() does not work unless proceeded by silence

Get help with installing, upgrading and running Asterisk.

Moderators: muppetmaster, Moderator, Support

Bug: SayPhonetic() does not work unless proceeded by silence

Postby myudkowsky » Fri Nov 06, 2015 9:40 am

The following code does not work; the phonetic alphabet is not spoken:
Code: Select all
exten => 89,1,SayPhonetic(tu)
exten => 89,n,Hangup()


The following code does work: I hear the audio
Code: Select all
exten => 89,1,Playback(silence/1)
exten => 89,n,SayPhonetic(tu)
exten => 89,n,Hangup()


Output (verbose=5) is different. With no "silence," we get:
Code: Select all
  == Using SIP RTP CoS mark 5
    -- Executing [89@public:1] SayPhonetic("SIP/123.45.67.890-00000104", "tu") in new stack
    -- <SIP/123.45.67.890-00000104> Playing 'phonetic/t_p.gsm' (language 'en')
    -- <SIP/123.45.67.890-00000104> Playing 'phonetic/u_p.gsm' (language 'en')
    -- Executing [89@public:2] Hangup("SIP/123.45.67.890-00000104", "") in new stack
  == Spawn extension (public, 89, 2) exited non-zero on 'SIP/123.45.67.890-00000104'


With silence, we pass "probation":
Code: Select all
  == Using SIP RTP CoS mark 5
    -- Executing [89@public:1] Playback("SIP/123.45.67.890-00000105", "silence/1") in new stack
       > 0x7f98fc057df0 -- Probation passed - setting RTP source address to 123.45.67.890:50014
    -- <SIP/123.45.67.890-00000105> Playing 'silence/1.gsm' (language 'en')
    -- Executing [89@public:2] SayPhonetic("SIP/123.45.67.890-00000105", "tu") in new stack
    -- <SIP/123.45.67.890-00000105> Playing 'phonetic/t_p.gsm' (language 'en')
    -- <SIP/123.45.67.890-00000105> Playing 'phonetic/u_p.gsm' (language 'en')
    -- Executing [89@public:3] Hangup("SIP/123.45.67.890-00000105", "") in new stack
  == Spawn extension (public, 89, 3) exited non-zero on 'SIP/123.45.67.890-00000105'


I'm running Asterisk 11.13.1~dfsg-2+b1, via the Debian stable repository.
myudkowsky
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 4:02 pm

Re: Bug: SayPhonetic() does not work unless proceeded by silence

Postby david55 » Fri Nov 06, 2015 11:45 am

Your connection doesn't support early media (you might need Progress for that). Playback, by default, answers the call.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 12570
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: Bug: SayPhonetic() does not work unless proceeded by silence

Postby myudkowsky » Fri Nov 06, 2015 12:14 pm

SOLVED.

You're correct: I replaced the initial Playback() with Answer() and this worked just fine.

Thank you very much.
myudkowsky
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 4:02 pm


Return to Asterisk Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 1 guest