Different ring from internal and external calls

Get help with installing, upgrading and running Asterisk.

Moderators: muppetmaster, Moderator, Support

Different ring from internal and external calls

Postby asyscom » Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:47 am

Hello to all , I will first describe the situation .
FreePBX it is connected to a Patton sn4120 with 2 BRI , 4 SIP phones connected to the PBX and 22 analog phones connected to the PBX via a grandstream gxw4200 fxs gateway .
The calls come at a Ringroup doing play 7 phones simultaneously ( 3 sip and 4 analog and 1 cordless ) .
That's it in terms of configuration and it works fine . What the customer asks me ( with the old analog exchange that I replaced it worked) is diversifying the sound of the 6 internal Ringroup depending on whether the call comes from outside or inside .
The models of phones are
3 Grandstream gxp1610
3 ST - 200 ( analog )
1 Brondi Cruise ( cordless )
I do not know why but it seems that this feature to the customer is vital

Thanks in advance
asyscom
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:18 am

Re: Different ring from internal and external calls

Postby david55 » Fri Jan 15, 2016 3:47 am

Ringgroups are FreePBX constructs. If you are using FreePBX, please ask on http://community.freepbx.org/

If you are using the & notation or a ringall queue with the phones as direct members, you will only be able to do this if all the phones accept the same custom header Otherwise you will need to introduce local channels to allow you to set the headers differently for each phone.

The header to use, and whether it can be done at all will depend on the phone.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 12570
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: Different ring from internal and external calls

Postby asyscom » Fri Jan 15, 2016 4:01 am

Hi,

thanks for reply, i'll open a post on freepbx support.

I Can user queue, form is indifferents, the goas ring all stategy....

For analog phones i cant't get extra informations because are very old models, however, suppose to use queue for ringall...what can i do to try different rings?

Thnaks in advance
asyscom
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:18 am

Re: Different ring from internal and external calls

Postby david55 » Fri Jan 15, 2016 4:30 am

See http://lists.digium.com/pipermail/aster ... 43470.html for how to set custom cadences on dahdi analogue lines.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 12570
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: Different ring from internal and external calls

Postby asyscom » Fri Jan 15, 2016 4:50 am

I don'tuse dahdi, my fxs gateway is an external granstream...my inbound calls come from trunk sip
asyscom
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 3:18 am

Re: Different ring from internal and external calls

Postby david55 » Fri Jan 15, 2016 6:03 am

They you need to treat it like a SIP phone and find out its custom way of controlling the cadence, if it has one at all.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 12570
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: Different ring from internal and external calls

Postby csyria » Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:31 pm

asyscom wrote:I don'tuse dahdi, my fxs gateway is an external granstream...my inbound calls come from trunk sip


On a previous Linksys ATA I had, we accomplished distinctive ringing by using ALERT-INFO with code similar to:
Code: Select all
exten => s,1,SIPAddHeader(Alert-Info: something)
exten => s,2,Dial(SIP/myphone)


The "something" was defined in the ATA's config, and I had a bunch of configurable options. I've also used (different) Alert-Info headers on my Polycom phones with success.

I skimmed the manual for your Grandstream and it didn't make any mention of distinctive ringing. You may need to contact Grandstream support to see if this is even possible on this ATA, but ultimately, the Grandstream box is what makes the analog phones physically ring, so this is where the support needs to be.

You may also have some difficulty doing distinctive ringing on the analog and the SIP phones at the same time, since the SIP phones may only accept Alert-Info (a,b,c) and the Grandstream may only accept (x,y,z).
csyria
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:18 am


Return to Asterisk Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest