Check Voicemail Remotely

Get help with installing, upgrading and running Asterisk.

Moderators: muppetmaster, Support, Moderator

Check Voicemail Remotely

Postby kmkittre » Thu Sep 21, 2006 9:46 am

This seems like an easy task, and I'm probably just not using the right terms in my searches. However, so far I'm coming up empty-handed.

What is the easiest way to check voicemail remotely when all I have is a telephone (no way to get or play .wav files)? I have a phone that can receive e-mails so I know when I have a voicemail. Now, how can I check that voicemail without using a SIP phone?

(Links to tutorials would be great)

Thanks.
kmkittre
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

Postby IronHelix » Thu Sep 21, 2006 10:03 am

if you have voip or other phone service hooked up to your * box, make an extension for VoiceMailMain(@yourcontext) and then dial that...
IronHelix
Salt of the Asterisk
 
Posts: 1654
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

Postby kmkittre » Thu Sep 21, 2006 3:43 pm

I have voip connected to it. Could you provide more information about the extension I need to create?
kmkittre
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

Postby IronHelix » Fri Sep 22, 2006 12:53 am

First asterisk has to answer and be listening for you to dial something. IE, the call has to be in Background, WaitExten, or something like it (app currently on the channel) for it to be listening...

then put
exten => whatever,1,VoiceMailMain(@context)
in that incoming context. replace whatever with any code or number(s) and @context with @yourvoicemailcontext.

Hope that helps!
IronHelix
Salt of the Asterisk
 
Posts: 1654
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

Postby kmkittre » Mon Sep 25, 2006 11:09 am

So, is there no easy way to do this in something like FreePBX? I have to edit the .conf files directly?
kmkittre
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

Postby Bradrose » Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:02 pm

Sorry,

I don't think there is an easy way to resolve your problem. Editing the extensions_custom.conf file is probably going to be the easiest way to go.

Brad
Bradrose
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

Postby Bradrose » Mon Sep 25, 2006 12:07 pm

When you call your number, are you presented with an IVR?
Bradrose
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

This is another way to do it.

Postby buddyedwards » Thu Sep 28, 2006 12:25 am

If you use Asterisk @Home or Trixbox you can also create this in extensions_custom.conf

[custom-login]
exten => s,1,VoiceMailMain(@default)

Then in digital receptionist add a key (I personally use 9) with the following custom app configuration.

custom-login,s,1

It works well and gives a one touch to voicemail login.
buddyedwards
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

Re: Check Voicemail Remotely

Postby Sarv » Thu Sep 28, 2006 6:47 pm

Have you set up a special extension number for voicemail that the users can dial to get their respective vm messages?
If not, then you need to do that first. See Ironhelix's suggestion here.
Next, are you set up so that your * box can handle incoming pstn calls? I mean, if someone calls from pstn, does your * get the call and provide voicemail if no one answers?
If you haven't done that, then you need to do that first.
But,
Assuming that you have done all that and have gotten this far, all you need to do add the 'a' extension in extension.conf as follows:
Code: Select all
exten => a,1,VoicemailMain                   ; Press '*' during vm greeting to access vm remotely
exten => a,n,Hangup()

Just press '*' during vm greeting to get access to your mailbox remotely. * will ask for your extension and passwd.
This works for calls made from external pstn line, or from internal extensions as well.
NOTE that there is no need for an IVR here.

kmkittre wrote:This seems like an easy task, and I'm probably just not using the right terms in my searches. However, so far I'm coming up empty-handed.

What is the easiest way to check voicemail remotely when all I have is a telephone (no way to get or play .wav files)? I have a phone that can receive e-mails so I know when I have a voicemail. Now, how can I check that voicemail without using a SIP phone?

(Links to tutorials would be great)

Thanks.
Sarv
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

Postby dghundt » Fri Sep 29, 2006 6:50 am

I just set up DISA with my own password.
I call in, hear my IVR, type in an option, enter my password, and then get dialtone.
With that you are virtually making a call from within the LAN of your asterisk server.
dghundt
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

Postby edong » Sat Feb 17, 2007 11:02 am

well, i have done these things i believe correctly. i can call in and the voicemail activates. and i can leave a message. i can tehn check the message from the ip phone no problem. but i cant call the ip phone number and hit "*" and get my password prompt. i have the a extension in place.. and ill post that file.. but i think i am doing something wrong with the extensions.conf file, casue i dont think it is listening.

EXTENSIONS.CONF

[general]
static=yes
writeprotect=no
;
[globals]


[default]
[local-exchange]

;Local Echange (Don't use a line if you don't need it!)
exten => 5294381,1,Dial(SIP/)
exten => 5294382,1,Dial(SIP/photo)

; Outgoing Call Routing
[529-4381-out]
exten => _X!,1,Dial(Zap/1/${EXTEN})

[529-4382-out]
exten => 5294382,1,VoiceMailMain(3262)
exten => _X!,1,Dial(Zap/2/${EXTEN})

; Incoming Call Routing
[529-4381-in]
exten => s,1,Dial(SIP/)
exten => s,2,Hangup

[529-4382-in]
exten => s,1,Dial(SIP/photo,5)
exten => s,2, Answer()
exten => s,3,Voicemail(3262)
exten => a,4,VoiceMailMain(3262)
exten => s,5,Hangup


and of course there are the mailbox listings in the voicemail.conf file and sip.conf.
edong
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 10:03 am


Return to Asterisk Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests

cron