default user names and passwords?

Get help with installing and running AsteriskNOW.

Moderators: Moderator, Support

default user names and passwords?

Postby peterpreuss » Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:51 pm

I gather that the root password of the rpath VMware image is empty.

But what is the default user name and password to use for that nifty new "Asterisk Configuration GUI" served up on https?

The quickstart_asterisknow.pdf does mention an admin/password account but that does not seem to work.

Thanks for any hints (manager.conf? some MySQL table?)!

Cheers!
Peter.
peterpreuss
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 10:40 pm

Postby filippos » Tue Dec 26, 2006 2:31 am

... and what about su ?
I wanna change .conf files by hand, but can't su as root

Merry Christmas and a happy new year to all.
And you run, you run, but it's sinking and wasting around, to come up behind you again ...
User avatar
filippos
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:20 am
Location: Athena, Ellas

Postby elliotsutton » Tue Dec 26, 2006 6:45 am

Hi men,

You can load the install disk in RESCUE mode and modify the root password as usual :
#chroot /mnt/sysimage/
#passwd
change the password and reboot.
That's all folks !

Best Regards,
Francois BERGERET,
France.
elliotsutton
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

Re: default user names and passwords?

Postby mbrooks » Wed Dec 27, 2006 1:35 am

peterpreuss wrote:I gather that the root password of the rpath VMware image is empty.

But what is the default user name and password to use for that nifty new "Asterisk Configuration GUI" served up on https?

The quickstart_asterisknow.pdf does mention an admin/password account but that does not seem to work.

Thanks for any hints (manager.conf? some MySQL table?)!

Cheers!
Peter.


The default username and password for the vmware images are 'admin' and 'password'. You have to change them all in separate places, I believe there are 3 different places that the logins are stored (System Account, GUI, and rPath control panel thingy). Be sure you change all 3 of them if you intend on running this in an unfirewalled environment, or an environment where security is an issue.

Thanks,
Matt Brooks
Digium, Inc.
mbrooks
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

Postby olsjohnluke » Thu Dec 28, 2006 11:51 am

f6hqz wrote:Hi men,

You can load the install disk in RESCUE mode and modify the root password as usual :
#chroot /mnt/sysimage/
#passwd
change the password and reboot.
That's all folks !

Best Regards,
Francois BERGERET,
France.


Francois -

There's an easier way to change the root password that I found in another post - here.

The easiest way I have found to get root access is from the AsteriskNOW console Menu. Select the second option "console", then press Alt-F9 to get to the *CLI> prompt. From there type ! and hit enter. Voila, root access.

Now you can change passwords, modify .conf files, format the drive, whatever.
olsjohnluke
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 3:36 pm


Return to AsteriskNOW Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest