setting caller id

Get help with installing and running AsteriskNOW.

Moderators: Moderator, Support

setting caller id

Postby rebootln » Mon Feb 09, 2015 1:04 pm

Hey guys

i am writing an application that dials out via asterisk sip

i am having problem setting an outbound caller id from my application via sip headers

seems that no matter what i do the asterisk doesn't seem to grab the caller id info from the header - and forwards the SIp username as the caller id ( i left the caller id blank in the sip.conf for this user

Can you please direct me how to form the sip header properly so the asterisk grabs the caller name and caller number from the header

Thank you
rebootln
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:50 pm

Re: setting caller id

Postby david55 » Tue Feb 10, 2015 2:10 am

Asterisk will take the caller ID from the From header by default. That should not be a problem for phones. It can be a problem on the outbound side, as some ITSPs insist on the From header including the account name. However, responsible ITSPs will vet caller IDs anyway, to make sure you own the number being presented.

If you enable trustrpid, it will use any Remote-Party-ID or P-Asserted-Identity headers, if present. You may need force presentation allowed status.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 12570
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: setting caller id

Postby rebootln » Tue Feb 10, 2015 7:21 pm

i am now using xlite to test this

sip.conf sample

[SipUserName]
callerid=JohnDoe <100> is set in the sip.conf the ${CALLERID(num)} returns 100

but if the caller id is left empty the ${CALLERID(num)} returns SipUserName

when i set it in xlite - it does not overwrite value for ${CALLERID(num)} .
rebootln
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:50 pm

Re: setting caller id

Postby david55 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:43 am

Caller ID on a sip.conf device entry will override any caller ID coming from that device.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 12570
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: setting caller id

Postby rebootln » Wed Feb 11, 2015 9:01 am

Right - but if it isn't set - it shows the sip login name as the number
rebootln
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:50 pm

Re: setting caller id

Postby rebootln » Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:20 am

i would expect that if i dont' set it in sip.conf i woudl be able to set it in say x-lite - but for some reason the ${CALLERID(num)} does not retreive it
rebootln
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2013 12:50 pm


Return to AsteriskNOW Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 5 guests