What is the default root password?

General discussions about AsteriskNOW.

Moderators: Moderator, Support

What is the default root password?

Postby hohenzolern » Wed Dec 27, 2006 1:21 pm

Hey guys,

What is the default root password so that I can change it without doing a rescue?

If I change the root password does it affect conary's ability to upgrade?

Thanks,
Randy Quick
hohenzolern
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

Postby angler » Wed Dec 27, 2006 2:21 pm

There are a few posts on the forums about this, just do a search.
angler
Asterisk Freak
 
Posts: 576
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

Root Password

Postby gregshap » Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:09 am

Not real helpful are they?
gregshap
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 4:43 pm

root password

Postby atheling » Sat Dec 30, 2006 12:40 am

I ran into the problem that it did not prompt me to change the default password which is "password." However when I tried to login to the root account with password it did not take so do the following :

1) enter the command line console on the machine
2) login with admin and the password that you created for the admin account (done during the install)
3) type sudo passwd
4) it will then prompt you to enter a new password for root with the appropriate warnings.

You will now have access to the console and can ssh in. You should not have any problems upgrading if you have changed the root password.
atheling
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:56 pm

Postby j4m3s » Wed Jan 03, 2007 4:28 pm

Please refer to the sticky post about root passwords....

http://forums.digium.com/viewtopic.php?t=12559
j4m3s
Oldsterisk
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2006 1:31 pm


Return to AsteriskNOW General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests