Why have multi-line IP phones?

General discussions about AsteriskNOW.

Moderators: Moderator, Support

Why have multi-line IP phones?

Postby FGCUHank » Fri Aug 29, 2008 7:06 pm

I know this is a bit off thread but I am just baffled on this one.

We have a small *NOW setup in house, here is a quick summary for reference.

*NOW running on a vmware box. Approx 40 extensions/users
Standardized on Grandstream phones, four and six line models.
One each FXS and FXO 4 line gateways.
One four channel trunk and inbound number from Voicepulse.

The multi line Grandstream phones were chosen mainly for buttons/features on the phone itself to make life easier for the users. We also have two of the extension units for the receptionist stations.

My question is, what are the rest of you using the other line buttons for?

All my line and trunk selection is handled in *NOW. I was lazy and burned a line of some of the multi-line phones to make a poor mans intercom and you can configure each line on the Grandstream to auto answer.

Thanks for any feedback
hg
FGCUHank
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:48 am

Postby bkruse » Thu Sep 11, 2008 4:37 pm

I used mine for voicemail and in one situation for direct dial into a conference/something similar.

-bk
bkruse
Site Admin
 
Posts: 878
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:20 pm
Location: Huntsville, Alabama


Return to AsteriskNOW General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest