Need Help! New To This.

General discussions about AsteriskNOW.

Moderators: Moderator, Support

Need Help! New To This.

Postby arche » Sun Aug 31, 2008 10:29 am

Hello everyone, sorry if this is the wrong forum to post this but figured this might be the best place. Currently I am an IT Manager at a real estate office. Currently the company has a Panasonic D500 Digital Super Hybrid System with a Key Voice Technologies Voicemail system. The Voicemail system is on a old i386 computer which is running DOS. The computer itself is going down and I need to replace the voicemail system before it dies.

The Computer has three ISA cards in it with what looks like 1 phone line each. Comdial (who owns key voice technoligies software) bascially will not help without upgrading to there software. I would rather use AsteriskNOW software but am a little lost as to how to go about setting this up. From my understanding the D500 controls the phones (which are analog) and extensions and when a line is busy or the agent is not there they get forwarded to the Key Voicemail.

Will AsteriskNOW work with the D500? If it can, is there any instructions on just setting up the voicemail for this D500 system? Also, can I use the same cards in the old PC or do I have to buy a new one, also is there a local computer store that would sell a PCI card that would work with this (i.e. frys, tigerdirect, etc..). Any help would be great.

Thanks in advance,
arche
arche
Newsterisk

Postby bkruse » Thu Sep 11, 2008 4:13 pm

Yes it will IF they are not digital phones using the rj-11 line.

If they are plain old analog phones, you can do to:

http://www.digium.com/en/products/analog/ and get a card for those phones and set it up through the GUI.

-bk
bkruse
Site Admin

Voicemail

Postby Emmett Dunham » Sat Oct 18, 2008 2:24 pm

I would pull all of the cards out of the old voicemail and stuff them in a differnt pc!
Emmett Dunham
Newsterisk

Postby bkruse » Mon Oct 20, 2008 9:57 am