Install steps

General discussions about AsteriskNOW.

Moderators: Moderator, Support

Install steps

Postby droth » Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:03 am

Well after much researching I have complied a procedure to help people install AsteiskNow from scratch. Hope this helps.

Install AsteriskNOW 1.5.0 from CD.
After installation first boot will prompt with Setup-Agent to enter IP address, subnet mask, and gateway.

# vi /etc/resolv.conf
(add DNS servers ex. Nameserver 192.168.1.2)

# /etc/init.d/network restart

# yum update
(reply ’y’ when prompted.)

# yum install kmod-dahdi-linux-PAE
(reply ’y’ when prompted.)

# wget http://downloads.asterisk.org/pub/telephony/libpri/libpri-1.4.10.1.tar.gz (or latest version).

# tar -xvvzf libpri-1.4.10.1.tar.gz

# cd libpri-1.4.10.1

# make

# make install

# rm libpri-1.4.10.1.tar.gz

# vi /etc/php.ini
(change (increase) memory_limit=16M TO memory_limit=100M under RESOURCE LIMITS header)

# reboot

# dahdi_genconf

# cp /etc/asterisk/chan_dahdi.conf.template /etc/asterisk/chan_dahdi.conf

# vi /etc/asterisk/chan_dahdi.conf
Enter the following not including this line replacing ALL original text in file. I am using a TE210P card for T1 if you are using an Analog card you do not need to replace this files contents.

;# Flash Operator Panel will parse this file for dahdi trunk buttons
;# AMPLABEL will be used for the display labels on the buttons
;# %c Dahdi Channel number
;# %n Line number
;# %N Line number, but restart counter
;# Example:
;# ;AMPLABEL:Channel %c - Button %n
;# For Dahdi/* buttons use the following
;# (where x=number of buttons to dislpay)
;# ;AMPWILDCARDLABEL(x):MyLabel

[trunkgroups]

[channels]
language=en
;; include dahdi extensions defined in FreePBX
#include chan_dahdi_additional.conf
#include dahdi-channels.conf

eof (do not include this line in the code above)

# amportal stop

# dahdi_cfg

# amportal start

Install Asterisk addons
# yum install asterisk-addons
(reply ’y’ when prompted.)

# amportal restart

Install FTP service ( I use ftp instead of tftp for the phone config files so I can use an easy ftp program like Filezilla to transfer the files around )
# yum install vsftpd
(reply ’y’ when prompted.)

edit vsftpd config file to remove anonymous access then start the service and enable it to start on boot.
# vi /etc/vsftpd/vsftpd.conf

# chkconfig vsftpd on

# /etc/init.d/vsftpd start

Create ftp user poly (or whatever you want) for phone config files.
# useradd -G ftp poly

Create password for poly ftp account.
# passwd thepassword

# chown poly:ftp /home/poly

# chmod 755 /home/poly

# /etc/init.d/vsftpd restart

Enable remote MySQL access if you use another program to manage your db
# mysql -uroot -p

Hit enter again when prompted for password
mysql> GRANT ALL ON asterisk.* TO root@'10.101.4.%';
mysql> exit

Edit Apache config file to get rid of a few errors on the freepbx panel that wont make any sense to you.
# vi /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
Change
User apache
Group apache
TO
User asterisk
Group asterisk

Restart apache service
# apachectl -k restart

FreePBX set up
log on to web interface using server IP address in browser.
Click Module Admin from Nav Menu.
Click Check for update online.
Click Download all.
Click Process button.
Click Confirm button.
Click Return.
Click Apply Configuration Changes & Continue with Reload.
Repeat until all modules are downloaded and upgraded.

Installs done.
droth
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Lakeside,CA

Re: Install steps

Postby Moderns » Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:01 pm

Hi thanks, it's really helpful.

Please do you have tutorial for commands of centOS 5.3? how to navigate through it? sometimes we don't find escape when after typing some commands.

Also how to use them in asterisk now, because I tried some commands but they didn't work :(

Sometimes I can't type ^C and it does nothing! :( when they give you three selections, yes Y, no N, or cancel ^C.

I would appreciate your support
Moderns
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:13 am

Re: Install steps

Postby Moderns » Tue Oct 27, 2009 1:15 pm

when writing this command: # vi /etc/resolv.conf

I got a screen, I typed:

nameserver 192.168.1.2 then clicked enter,

I got on screen

--insert--

I couldn't do anything after that.

What to do?
Moderns
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:13 am

Re: Install steps

Postby droth » Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:44 pm

When editing a file using the vi command type i for insert. Then make your changes. When done hit esc then type :wq

w to write the changes and q to quit but make sure to type a : first.

to quit without saving changes type :q!

to edit the ip information on eth0 enter the following # vi /etc/sysconfig/networking/devices/ifcfg-eth0

also when editing the resolv.conf for setting up your DNS the nameservers will depend on your DNS servers. I used mine in the example above. So 192.168.2.1 will not be correct. And to add more than one DNS server just enter the next one on the next line.
droth
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Lakeside,CA

Re: Install steps

Postby Moderns » Thu Oct 29, 2009 8:37 am

droth wrote:When editing a file using the vi command type i for insert. Then make your changes. When done hit esc then type :wq

w to write the changes and q to quit but make sure to type a : first.

to quit without saving changes type :q!

to edit the ip information on eth0 enter the following # vi /etc/sysconfig/networking/devices/ifcfg-eth0

also when editing the resolv.conf for setting up your DNS the nameservers will depend on your DNS servers. I used mine in the example above. So 192.168.2.1 will not be correct. And to add more than one DNS server just enter the next one on the next line.


Thanks a lot, it's really so helpful.

Please can you tell me what to write in the file exactly?
Moderns
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:13 am

Re: Install steps

Postby droth » Thu Oct 29, 2009 8:47 am

Your IP and DNS info will have to be gotten from your Network admin and Internet provider.
droth
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Lakeside,CA

Re: Install steps

Postby Moderns » Thu Oct 29, 2009 8:54 am

Please can you tell us in details everything after Root login?

I mean after [root@localhost ~]#

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.


Thanks guys.
Moderns
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:13 am

Re: Install steps

Postby Moderns » Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:21 pm

Thanks guys I have solved the problem.

I explained to others in steps how to do :)

This is the link: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=72107&p=139104&sid=13f7a753f221fd1527c9ec0108005d5a#p139104
Moderns
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 2:13 am


Return to AsteriskNOW General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron