Best way to go for telephone service

General discussions about AsteriskNOW.

Moderators: Moderator, Support

Best way to go for telephone service

Postby BShurilla09 » Fri May 20, 2011 1:03 am

Ok, so I am working with a relatively small, but very technically advanced church, and we have a spare Dell Poweredge 6650 that we are planning on putting AsteriskNOW on, but we can't decide what to do for phone service. We can get 2 unlimited lines from charter, one line being a "full line" ya know, has all the caller id and stuff, and the 2nd line as just a "basic" fax line, for $25 a month, and best I can tell, in order to connect the charter lines to the server, I just need a pci card with 2 FXO ports, which I have found around $120 online.. The other option from what I can gather is that we could go with someone like Broadvoice, and skip the FXO card, but I just am not sure as this is my first time with any kind of telephony systems.. on a side note, right now we have vonage small business, at $75 a month, and only use about 200 minutes a month..
BShurilla09
Newsterisk

Re: Best way to go for telephone service

Postby malcolmd » Fri May 20, 2011 7:00 am

Howdy,

Yes, for two analog lines, you'll need two analog FXO interfaces.

BroadVoice works, too. You'll need a SIP trunk from them capable of providing two simultaneous calls.

You can elect to stay with Vonage, but you can't connect directly to them - you'll have to hang FXO interfaces on the back side of the FXS interfaces provided by their ATA.

If what you found online is a clone of someone else's (Digium's) card, I'd encourage you *not* to buy that clone. For one, it's a clone. Second, money put towards clones is money that does *not* fund Asterisk. That funding covers infrastructure to bring you Asterisk, developers who fix bugs and add new features, etc.