Want to setup a IP-PBX with Asterisks Now and need help

General discussions about AsteriskNOW.

Moderators: Moderator, Support

Want to setup a IP-PBX with Asterisks Now and need help

Postby 1day » Sat Jul 23, 2011 2:07 am

Hi,

I am trying to setup a brand new PBX at home, something I can easily monitor and upgrade and play around with.

We have need for 20 possibly 25 extensions. Since I am going to be using a lot of Wifi SIp phones as extensions, it might bring down the need for more extensions.

Anyhow. I am a developer, infact worked on creating core telecomm grade system for a startup so I have no problem with techy responses.

Since I have moved on to more sales and marketing roles and want to keep it that way so I wanted to see if Now is the right product for me? I want a system that does everything for me with as little configuration as possible. I do not want to do too much with the system other than act as a pbx for my house. 4 pri lines coming in and getting routed to my desired extensions based on time of day, coming numbers etc and if all goes well and easy then a voicemail system.

Along with the desire to do all open source for PBX, I want to the same for Media server riding on the same wired and wireless infrastructure I am creating at home. The reason I mention that is because I wanted to see how CPU/Memory hungry is Now or for that matter a PBX solution for 4 outside lines?

I was thinking of running both my applications from one powerful box. Since Media server application is not very CPU intensive I thought it might work. What do you think? Currently I was thinking of doing a i7 970 with 12gb 1600mhz ram and 14tb hdd but I could upgrade the processor or RAM is need be. I think I should be ok with the hdd space for now.

So my main Qs.

1. Is Now for me?
2. Is it easy to work with, if I do not want to rack my brains on configuring it.