Asterisk yum not working

General discussions about AsteriskNOW.

Moderators: Moderator, Support

Asterisk yum not working

Postby onthephone » Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:18 am

Hi

I am trying install asterisk in Rhel from yum repositories. But I am getting the following errors. I added the repositories as mentioned in the link. https://wiki.asterisk.org/wiki/display/ ... FRedHat%29

It seems there is something wrong with the repositories. I tried to download the page wget http://packages.asterisk.org/rhel/5/cur ... repomd.xml and got similar error
================
wget http://packages.asterisk.org/rhel/5/cur ... repomd.xml
--2011-07-26 16:20:30-- http://packages.asterisk.org/rhel/5/cur ... repomd.xml
Resolving packages.asterisk.org... 76.164.171.229, 2001:470:e0d4::e5
Connecting to packages.asterisk.org|76.164.171.229|:80... failed: Connection refused.
Connecting to packages.asterisk.org|2001:470:e0d4::e5|:80... failed: Address family not supported by protocol.
================


[root@datareceiver2 ~]# yum install asterisk18 asterisk18-configs
Loaded plugins: rhnplugin, security
http://packages.asterisk.org/rhel/5Serv ... repomd.xml: [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error (97, 'Address family not supported by protocol')>
Trying other mirror.
Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: asterisk-current. Please verify its path and try again
========================

Please let me know how can I resolve this issue.

Regards,
Harish
onthephone
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:10 am

Re: Asterisk yum not working

Postby malcolmd » Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:49 pm

I can't reproduce the first error. I can wget the repomod just fine. Can you connect to packages.asterisk.org at all?

The second points to a non-existent URL.
Malcolm Davenport
Digium, Inc. | Senior Product Manager
malcolmd
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 3019
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL, US

Re: Asterisk yum not working

Postby onthephone » Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:43 am

Sorry for the delayed response

I am able to install it now. Had to do some small changes in yum repos. One more question I see rhel repos are empty. I have installed centos repos.

Please let me know if it is fine to use centos rpms in rhel?

Regards,
Harish
onthephone
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:10 am

Re: Asterisk yum not working

Postby malcolmd » Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:50 am

It *might* be. No warranties though. ;)
Malcolm Davenport
Digium, Inc. | Senior Product Manager
malcolmd
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 3019
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL, US


Return to AsteriskNOW General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest