Recommendations with upgrading/updating AsteriskNOW/Asterisk

General discussions about AsteriskNOW.

Moderators: Moderator, Support

Recommendations with upgrading/updating AsteriskNOW/Asterisk

Postby butlerkevind » Wed Jul 31, 2013 11:23 am

Greetings all. I am relatively new to Asterisk/FreePBX/Linux, so please try not to rain down on me like a ton of lead ingots regarding my following query:

I have inherited by virtue of my new position at my job an AsteriskNOW v1.7.1 server on CentOS v5.5, Asterisk version is currently v1.6..2.20 and FreePBX v2.9.x.x. To date, I have successfully migrated this implementation from a physical HA dual-server configuration to a single virtualized host on VMware ESXi with no problems (save a few MySQL password issues). The former and current servers manage less than 80 Cisco 79xx series handsets. We have had no issues with jitter with our server being virtualized.

My questions consist of the following:

1. My attempts to update my virtualized PROD server cloned in VMware to a DEV server from Asterisk v1.6.2.20 to v1.8.7.0-2 have been somewhat successful. The only thing I have had to do is rebuild the config files on my extensions, and all works. My main issue is attempting to upgrade the FreePBX version from v2.9.x.x to v2.10.x.x. The upgrade succeeds, but afterwards any attempts to add new extensions to the DEV server results in the extension(s) failing to register itself with the server. Additionally, any current extensions that are operational after the upgrade will fail to register if I make any changes to them (i.e., assign an extension a new number based upon its MAC address), or should they be rebooted/restarted manually or by virtue of resetting the patch cable to the phone.