Sending Faxes with resolution Superfine and Ultrafine

Community-based Support for users of Free Fax For Asterisk

Sending Faxes with resolution Superfine and Ultrafine

Postby oli004 » Wed Aug 07, 2013 8:06 am

Hi

Asterisk Version: 10.12.2
FFA Version: 10.1_1.3.1

I would like to send faxes via FFA's SendFax() application with higher resolutions e.g.:
- 300x300 DPI (Superfine)
- 400x400 DPI (Ultrafine)

Does anyone know how to do this?

I already tried to change the ghostscript command, which generated the tiff file, but that did not seem to do the trick:
gs -q -r400x400 -dNOPAUSE -dBATCH -sDEVICE=tiffg4 -sPAPERSIZE=letter -sOutputFile=fax.tif input.pdf

Trying to send this file resulted in a segfault and a forced restart of asterisk:
[Aug 7 15:51:14] ERROR[31069]: res_fax_digium.c:2145 dgm_fax_start: FAX handle 0: failed to queue document 'fax.tif'
[Aug 7 15:51:14] ERROR[31069]: res_fax.c:1380 generic_fax_exec: channel 'channel' FAX session '0' failure, reason: 'failed to start FAX session' (INIT_ERROR)
j16344*CLI>
Disconnected from Asterisk server
Executing last minute cleanups

My questions:
- Is faxing in a different resolution supported by FFA?
- If yes, in which format do I have to generate the TIFF-file?
- Or is there a fundamental error in my thinking?

Thanks

Greetings

Oli4
oli004
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 7:37 am

Re: Sending Faxes with resolution Superfine and Ultrafine

Postby oli004 » Sun Aug 11, 2013 9:25 am

The trick was to add the tiff's size to the gs command (via the -g flag):

For 300 DPI:
gs -r300x300 -g2592x3507 -q -dNOPAUSE -dBATCH -sDEVICE=tiffg4 -sPAPERSIZE=a4 -sOutputFile=fax.tif input.pdf

For 400 DPI:
gs -r400x400 -g3456x4676 -q -dNOPAUSE -dBATCH -sDEVICE=tiffg4 -sPAPERSIZE=a4 -sOutputFile=fax.tif input.pdf

Have a nice day.
oli004
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 7:37 am

Re: Sending Faxes with resolution Superfine and Ultrafine

Postby malcolmd » Mon Aug 12, 2013 7:25 am

Nice find :)
Malcolm Davenport
Digium, Inc. | Senior Product Manager
malcolmd
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 3019
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL, US

Re: Sending Faxes with resolution Superfine and Ultrafine

Postby mafketel » Thu Sep 19, 2013 6:57 am

Although it might send the fax with more data, the actual image information is the same.
I am now trying to find out what you actually need to do to improve image quality

Nevermind .... I was not paying attention the solution above works fine. It's still a fax....
mafketel
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 6:54 am

Re: Sending Faxes with resolution Superfine and Ultrafine

Postby gboelter » Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:33 pm

oli004 wrote:
Trying to send this file resulted in a segfault and a forced restart of asterisk:
.
.
[Aug 7 15:51:14] ERROR[31069]: res_fax.c:1380 generic_fax_exec: channel 'channel' FAX session '0' failure, reason: 'failed to start FAX session' (INIT_ERROR)
j16344*CLI>
Disconnected from Asterisk server
Executing last minute cleanups


It's an old thread but I still like to give you a big THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!

Had the same problem here with Asterisk 11.14.1 last night and I was looking four hours for a solution until I found your post this morning.

I followed your advice and everything is fine now.

Thanks again ...

Guenther
gboelter
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 6:04 am

Re: Sending Faxes with resolution Superfine and Ultrafine

Postby ernestlewis » Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:34 pm

Thanks, even I was facing similar problem with 400x400 DPI Ultrafine with regards to fax , but got a solution here and it became a useful source for me.
ernestlewis
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:16 pm


Return to Fax For Asterisk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron