Page 1 of 1

Skype for Asterisk future?

PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2013 1:39 am
by datacompboy
Any new information about future of skype for asterisk product?
Will it continue work after july? Any information about recommend product for migration?
we have around 60 channels licenses, and that makes us mad...

Re: Skype for Asterisk future?

PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2013 4:07 am
by david55
I believe Skype offer a SIP gateway service, although, given that it is Skype that changed the rules here, you might want to avoid them altogether, and use a normal SIP or IAX ITSP.

I don't know whether Skype impose call charges for SIP calls terminating on Skype addresses, rather than PSTN numbers.

Re: Skype for Asterisk future?

PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 7:22 pm
by orenyny
We also have many channels of Skype for Asterisk, and I cannot get a straight answer if it is going to work or not.
Honestly I am surprised that this is a possibility.
My understanding of end of support is not that the product will be disabled, but that the tech support will not answer questions about the product.
If you have an old Windows or Office version, it does not have an 'expiration date' when they stop to support it...

Re: Skype for Asterisk future?

PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 8:45 pm
by eric_rkt
>> My understanding of end of support is not that the product will be disabled,
>> but that the tech support will not answer questions about the product.

They could easily make a small change to the protocol, coincident with bringing out a new version of the client, such that the old clients (Skype and 3rd-party, including Asterisk interface modules) will no longer work.

I took delivery this afternoon of a Freetalk Connect Me module that I connected up to the PBX and it works fine, provides Skype access to the PBX. The Freetalk people swear that they'll always be able to maintain compatibility with Skype. Yeah, right... we'll see.

Anybody got any links that point to websites that say that support for Skype for Asterisk is being terminated? I have read several times that that is the case but can not find any details.

Re: Skype for Asterisk future?

PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 10:12 pm
by navaismo
Product notification:

Skype for Asterisk will not be available for sale or activation after July 26, 2011.

Skype for Asterisk was developed by Digium in cooperation with Skype. It includes proprietary software from Skype that allows Asterisk to join the Skype network as a native client. Skype has decided not to renew the agreement that permits us to package this proprietary software. Therefore Skype for Asterisk sales and activations will cease on July 26, 2011.

This change should not affect any existing users of Skype for Asterisk. Representatives of Skype have assured us that they will continue to support and maintain the Skype for Asterisk software for a period of two years thereafter, as specified in the agreement with Digium. We expect that users of Skype for Asterisk will be able to continue using their Asterisk systems on the Skype network until at least July 26, 2013. Skype may extend this at their discretion.

Skype for Asterisk remains for sale and activation until July 26, 2011. Please complete any purchases and activations before that date.


Thank you for your business.


Digium Product Management


That was the bulletin Received on May 2011. So take your conclusions.

Re: Skype for Asterisk future?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:35 am
by juanefe
I dont use it much, but I dusted it off and checked it out today and its still working, at least skype to skype.

Re: Skype for Asterisk future?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 4:55 pm
by orenyny
Hi,

Good to hear that.
BTW: How do you use it for Skype to Skype, and... why?

BR.

Re: Skype for Asterisk future?

PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2014 4:45 am
by andy1
It does not work Skype to Skype... at least not to me.

Re: Skype for Asterisk future?

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2014 1:43 am
by rmertens
Hello
Today it works again for me, I'm receiving calls from skype users through my asterisk..

Re: Skype for Asterisk future?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2014 4:36 am
by jalmod
It is working for me, but I have audio quality problem when use it remotely (outside local lan).

Any idea how can I solve the chopping sound problem.