Adding an OVH sip line to asterisk via FreePBX

Get help with installing and running AsteriskNOW.

Moderators: Moderator, Support

Adding an OVH sip line to asterisk via FreePBX

Postby blet » Tue Jun 09, 2015 7:06 am

Hello,

I'm rather new to freepbx and asterisk.

I succesfully registered my first trunk and can receive call from it.
But now, i'm looking for something more specific and online i didn't find anything to help me.

Basically i have a OVH sip line (not a trunk just a classic sip) which i can connect to with a softphone (Xlite) but i was wondering if i could add this line in asterisk so it could re-route the calls from this line to others phones.

Actually we have a Gigaset DX800A, and in it we can register sip line (still not trunk) and create a call routing to our different phones and it works just fine (but limited to 7 sip lines).

I wanted to do the same but with asterisk and freepbx (unilimited lines could be added right ? as soon i have enough sip line).

Thanks for your help !!
:D
blet
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:59 am

Re: Adding an OVH sip line to asterisk via FreePBX

Postby david55 » Tue Jun 09, 2015 3:24 pm

FreePBX isn't supported here.

Asterisk doesn't distinguish between trunks and "extensions".

Loosely, if it will accept digits for onwards routing, it is a trunk.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 12570
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am

Re: Adding an OVH sip line to asterisk via FreePBX

Postby blet » Wed Jun 10, 2015 2:30 am

So it is possible ?

But how do I register it ? Since i must "tell" OVH the line is registered to the Asterisk...
blet
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:59 am

Re: Adding an OVH sip line to asterisk via FreePBX

Postby david55 » Wed Jun 10, 2015 3:19 pm

Use the register line in sip.conf. Particularly in the case of accounts intended for personal use, you may need to set fromuser. You will almost certainly need to set remotesecret. The number of simultaneous calls will depend on commercial and bandwidth considerations. A service sold for direct use with phone may not support simultaneous calls.
david55
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 12570
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:03 am


Return to AsteriskNOW Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests