Different internal ringtone with Digium D40 / 50 / 70

Get help with installing and running AsteriskNOW.

Moderators: Moderator, Support

Different internal ringtone with Digium D40 / 50 / 70

Postby oasistechnology » Fri Jun 19, 2015 3:03 am

Hello,

This is my first ever post to the forums on here, so please bear with me :)

I have for some time been successfully using AsteriskNow along with the Digium D40 / 50 / 70 phones. The DPMA has made setting these phones up a joy - bearing in mind that my previous experiences were with the Cisco 7940's (I still have the mental scars...)

A customer has recently asked me if it is possible to set a different ringtone for internal calls. I told them I'd have a look, but thus far - have drawn a complete blank in how to do it.

Does anyone on here know if this can indeed be configured, and if so, would they care to enlighten me, as it would be a really useful feature, and help me out a lot.

Thank you.
oasistechnology
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:07 am

Re: Different internal ringtone with Digium D40 / 50 / 70

Postby malcolmd » Fri Jun 19, 2015 7:30 am

Howdy,

The phone's got a number of built-in ringtones, and you can load custom ringtones, too, onto it. And, the phone's directed to play different ringtones with Alert-Info messages - you'll need to load custom Alerts onto the phone and map those to the ringtone and ringing type you want, but that's an easy task.

You need a way, within FreePBX, to have its dial macros (possibly GoSubs, I haven't looked lately), send an Alert-Info header, of your choosing, to the phone for internal calls.

That, unfortunately, is something that I don't know how to do.

Cheers
Malcolm Davenport
Digium, Inc. | Senior Product Manager
malcolmd
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 3019
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL, US

Re: Different internal ringtone with Digium D40 / 50 / 70

Postby oasistechnology » Fri Jun 19, 2015 7:42 am

Hi Malcolm,

Thank you so much for your reply - it is very much appreciated.

Like you - I don't know how to manage that within FreePBX, but hopefully some kind soul on here might know the answer :)

Appreciate your message.

James
oasistechnology
Newsterisk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:07 am

Re: Different internal ringtone with Digium D40 / 50 / 70

Postby malcolmd » Fri Jun 19, 2015 8:25 am

oasistechnology wrote:Like you - I don't know how to manage that within FreePBX, but hopefully some kind soul on here might know the answer :)

Appreciate your message.


You're very welcome. :)

*crosses fingers*
Malcolm Davenport
Digium, Inc. | Senior Product Manager
malcolmd
Moves Like Spencer
 
Posts: 3019
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:53 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL, US


Return to AsteriskNOW Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests